How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Ask any support questions here
Post Reply
omar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:05 am

How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by omar »

Everytime I open a new tab or session, I want the default view to be 'details'

There's nothing in settings
In the 'View' menu, there is an option to save current column layout
This has no effect

ALSO: is there anyway to get keyboard shortcuts that we have in Explorer?
Some are there and some aren't

Thanks


Omar

sorryatari
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 4:16 am

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by sorryatari »

i would really like to know the answer to this as well, in case you have found one or someone else here knows...

omar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:05 am

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by omar »

sorryatari wrote:i would really like to know the answer to this as well, in case you have found one or someone else here knows...
i made my own solution in the end using autohotkey
i have a shortcut that rearranges the view quickly
let me know if u want me to give script

Will_Rubin
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:31 am

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by Will_Rubin »

For me this was under Tools / Options / Default Settings. Select the Details radio button.

omar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:05 am

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by omar »

@Will_Rubin - awesome! never seen that before.
my script is really useful anyway though, as 20% of the time i need to switch to thumbnail view
+ i also need to see by date modified - which isn't always correct

AnthraX
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by AnthraX »

Unfortunately, this basic feature has been removed from Explorer++ 1.4.
The section Tools | Options | Default Settings is no longer there! This alone will make me drop Explorer++ and look for alternatives, as it is just too annoying having to change the view each time I navigate to a folder.

dickdelt
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:22 pm

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by dickdelt »

Thank for your clear explanation. I've been struggling with this for years.

David Erceg
Site Admin
Posts: 919
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:46 am

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by David Erceg »

AnthraX wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:27 pm
Unfortunately, this basic feature has been removed from Explorer++ 1.4.
The section Tools | Options | Default Settings is no longer there!
Just a note that the default settings tab definitely hasn't been removed.

Watcher
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2023 11:23 pm

Re: How do I make my view be 'details' by default?

Post by Watcher »

Tools/Options/Default settings/Default view - choose Details, then Apply

Post Reply